chocolate chip cookie dough bon bons

I have tried to make cake truffles atleast four times. I have failed every time. I don’t know what the deal is, but when I try to roll the cake into balls and it sticks to my hands, and I end up with these dough-ball messes. Then, I try to dunk my messy, sticky globs unto soft, melted, unadultered chocolate coating. I end up with a cake glob mashed with asymmetrical, hardening chocolate. They taste great but look atrocious, so I eat them myself and make something safe to bring.

Well I may suck at the cake truffles, but I totally owned these (the original recipe calls them chocolate chip cookie dough truffles).

Anyhow, I found some easy truffles. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bon Bons. These are more like cookie dough, and less like truffles. But really, is that a problem for you? It is not a problem for me.

I know what you are thinking. Cookie dough has raw eggs in it.

Not this cookie dough. This has some crazy combo that includes sweetened condensed milk. And it is so, so good. And when I think about Bon Bons, I have visions of sitting in on the couch with a good blanket and some junky TV. Thinking of that makes me happy right now.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bon Bons

adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

¾ cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp salt

2 cups flour

1 can  sweetened condensed milk

1 cup chocolate chips

4 oz. meltable chocolate bark

Cream together the butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Add salt and vanilla.

With speed on low, slowly add flour, alternating with condensed milk, beating well after each addition.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Refrigerate dough 45 minute-1 hour so that it is not too sticky.

Shape balls into 1-inch balls and place into an air tight container. Store in freezer for at least 3 hours.

Melt choolate and dip balls in chocolate. Let chocolate harden on waxed paper and then freeze up to 3 weeks.

4 thoughts on “chocolate chip cookie dough bon bons

  1. You are SUCH a stay-at-home mom with your Bon Bons. :)

    Can I join you on that couch, I’ll have the People magazine for my junk fix, and then the Bon Bons of course.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bon Bons | thedomesticrebel

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bon Bons | The Domestic Rebel

Leave a Reply

